Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dna

Dna

In the time since I last posted on DNA, things have changed. Just a few years ago, there was only the male (YDNA) and female (mtDNA) test available as you were exploring your native ancestry. Now, methods have so advanced that you can take the autosomal test and explore both sets of parents and then compare your DNA results with tests for ethnicity. There are multiple testing companies but the 3 that I see most frequently (I am not an expert though.) are 23andMe, FamilytreeDNA, and now Ancestry.com (Ancestry purchased Gene Tree.). I have not used 23andMe, but through third party resources (www.gedmatch.com), a DNA connection contacted me and was trying to determine where/how three of us matched. Two were DNA tests done on FamilytreeDNA and one was 23andMe. As I understand 23andMe, it will provide a medical result also, telling you if your family is prone to diabetes or other medical conditions. Now, honestly, I have found free software online that I was able to test my FamilytreeDNA through and see that I am most likely to have blue eyes (which I have), have diabetes (which my mother has), and have blond hair (which I don't have).

FamilytreeDNA has an autosomal test that they call Family Finder. It runs around 250 dollars. I have found and connected with a few cousins through this test. Its ethnicity reader leaves a lot to be desired though, as it says that I am 100% British Isles which I am not. I have a German father. However, you can upload the results to Gedmatch and play with the 4 ethnicity tests (called chromosome) there. Using these tests, I see the indigenous blood, my father's German, my mother's central European, and her British Isles. Very fun to play with.